To Cheer Myself Up

Feeling a bit depressed, so I’m just going to say this:
I’m looking forward to the upcoming Hobbit movies. Whether there will be two or three of them, I’ll be happy.
I liked Lord of the Rings. Frankly, I liked them better as movies than as books, because Tolkien’s style gets a bit turgid sometimes, and my attention span isn’t that great.
And I grew up reading high fantasy epics, starting with LOTR and branching out to the Chronicles of Narnia, the Perelandra trilogy, The Belgariad, Dune, the Vorkosigan saga and even The Wheel of Time (well, not all of it–eventually that one just wore me out), to name just a few. And I adore the Harry Dresden novels. Fantasy, sword-and-sorcery, SF, space operas, AU, werewolves, vampires (but not the Twilight series)–I enjoy gripping tales set in other worlds.
I don’t like stories of ordinary people conducting everyday lives, which pretty much rules out literary fiction. And I refuse to read weepy, depressing, cathartic tales–gah, life is rough enough.
I don’t really understand why my feelings should be hurt when someone else is dismissive of the kind of stories I like. But they are. So, I’m writing this post just to say, these are the stories I like.
So there.
Deal with it.
Okay, I feel better now.

7 thoughts on “To Cheer Myself Up

  1. Lol. I think I know what you are referring to (which is rare, as I never know what’s going on).

    PJ can make these movies forever as far as I’m concerned. I know I won’t like parts of them, (I found parts of LOTR to be laughable when they weren’t meant to be,) but more was gold than not.

    But I’m not following the three films debate. If there is a third, marvelous, if we only get extended editions, marvelous!

    On an unrelated note, have you read any of Tad Williams novels? Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn is a good fantasy trilogy.

  2. Thanks, DarkJackal! I think you’re wise not to follow the three movies debate–so far, I haven’t read that many thoughtful or insightful comments on the subject. Whatever the filmmakers decide is okay by me, too.
    Tad Williams? I’ve never read anything of his. I’ll definitely check those books out! Thanks again.

  3. Bwahhahhah! We win!

    As far as Tad’s trilogy goes (trilogies are such nice things aren’t they?) it basically ruined most other fantasy books for me. Like Tolkien, it is grounded in our world, often using semi-recognizable cultures for the source of its people. Whenever I try to read anything else, it strikes me as too fantastical by comparison (which isn’t fair really, but there you go!) I would love for Tad to go back to the world of Osten Ard, but he’s been very busy with other worlds since then (actually Otherworld is the name of another one of his long series, but that one didn’t get me quite the same way, and same can be said for Shadowmarch).

  4. Yeah! Hooray! (Pumps fist in the air) The three movie contingent wins! Well, as you said elsewhere, it will be better to have the entire story told clearly. I think PJ has enough clout now to avoid having the story slashed to fit the impatient attention span of some imaginary non-fan audience member.

    Hmmm. I definitely am going to have to check out Tad Williams’s work.

  5. I don’t get why people feel the need to criticize each other’s taste, period — or at least not in hateful ways. I have really broad tastes — everything from romance novels to medieval philosophy — and everything has its place. It’s enough to say “I like it / don’t like it” and maybe “you might like this too.”

    • Julia Cameron, in her “Artist’s Way” books, says that sometimes the harshest critics of a creative person’s efforts are what she calls “shadow artists”– people whose own creative energies are thwarted and perverted by their own denial of their need to create, so they lash out at anyone who actually exercises their creativity.
      I think she’s right, and it’s very reassuring to think that a critic’s negativity says more about them than it does about me (or whoever it is whose work I’m admiring). It doesn’t always soothe my wounded feelings, but it helps. 🙂

      • Interestingly similar to the concept of the “energy vampire” — a good friend’s been pointing out how I allow myself to be surrounded by them. You know, I’ve written hundreds of book reviews in my professional life, and you can use criticism in ways that support people and make them feel like they’ve done well.

Leave a Reply

