Warning: Cranky Rebuttal to Hobbit Critics Ahead

Well, I’ve been glowing with happiness over The Hobbit ever since it came out, and I’m looking forward to seeing it a fourth time tomorrow.

I think time will show that The Hobbit trilogy is a masterpiece and a pioneering work of cinema. As a whole, it’s going to be better than LOTR. I surely hope that other people will come around by the end of the trilogy, but even if they don’t, it doesn’t matter.

However, the criticism that has surfaced lately has been dismaying to me. It’s not that it bothers me that people don’t like this first movie. Some people just won’t like it because it’s not the kind of story that speaks to them in a way they understand. What bothers me is the sense that people who call themselves critics are just being negative for negativity’s sake. Apparently, these critics think it’s just plain fun to dis a moviemaker who is well-known, successful and talented.

 I’m sure Peter Jackson has already suffered through this issue with past movies, and learned not to let it get to him too much. When you make a work of art, you have to be true to your vision.  It’s hard to be criticized, but you can’t please everyone.

 As an audience member, though, it really makes me wonder what good a critic is. I mean, a critic should be someone who is educated about the subject on which he or she is offering criticism. They should be good analyzers and good communicators. They should be fair. When I read their review, I should be able to decide if I share their taste in movies.  But why should I waste my time on a critic who just wants to trash something for the hell of it? I’ve seen too many ignorant reviews lately, and they make me tired.

 So I enjoyed The Hobbit, and ain’t nobody gonna rain on my parade.

 As far as Richard Armitage is concerned, my heart is warmed by his statement that even if there had been no movie at all coming out of his Hobbit experience, it would have been a success for him. I think that’s exactly the right attitude for an actor to have: It’s the journey, it’s the life and learning that’s happened along the way, that really matters. As Gandalf says, all we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.

 I loved seeing RA on the screen. I think he’s done a wonderful job as Thorin–better than wonderful. Magnificent, amazing, breathtaking.

 And no one can take that away from me.

9 thoughts on “Warning: Cranky Rebuttal to Hobbit Critics Ahead

  1. I think there are people who get a charge out of their feelings of self-righteousness who then let the energy from that run away with their tongues. That’s not the case with every critic of this film, but there’s a lot of that. And a lot of people who, as you say, are determined to dis Jackson. I’m not a huge Jackson fan except on the vision level, but I think it’s worthwhile to look closely at how he puts his work together and to take that seriously. But it’s easier to judge superficially — it always will be.

    • Thanks, Servetus. You’re right, there are plenty of people who judge superficially just because it’s easier. But if judging is their job, they should do better than superficiality. I’ve been reading too many reviews, it seems–I probably should lay off.

    • Yes, I did! I really liked it. He knows his stuff, and isn’t going to let anyone get away with facile and unfounded criticisms. Take that, you lazy critics!

  2. thank you, thank you, thank you for writing this! My thoughts exactly. What is wrong with people?? :/ can’t read reviews anymore…they’re always b.s.
    Now just itching for 3rd viewing of The Hobbit and the release of #2! 😀

  3. Pingback: Legenda 59: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  4. I completely agree. If you need to complain about something, do so because the thing you’re complaining about is genuinely bad, or you really don’t like it. Don’t do it for the sake of complaining. Personally, I find it a lot more fun to review something I really couldn’t stand than something that’s kind of average, but I’m not going to start b***ing about stuff I actually like just because “but it’s so much fun to be snarky!” That would be unfair.

Leave a Reply

