A Gift I Got for Giving!

A while back, I participated in the SpReAd The Love Gives Back Week connected to the premiere of The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies.

Readers of the blog were urged to share a comment about a kindness you’d done for others, or something kind that had been done for you. One lucky person was to be selected from the comments, and they would receive a lovely handmade beaded bracelet in sky-blue, purple and gold.

So I shared a story about the nurses and staff at the nursing home where my mother spent her final years. She was strong-willed, fiercely independent, and sinking deeper into delusions and senility, so the good people at the home really had their work cut out for them. They found and removed the half-pints of milk that my mother kept hiding in her sock drawer. They fielded her continual complaints about the guy across the hall who listened to his TV too loud. They made sure she was clean and comfortable.

They considered what they did to be all in a day’s work, but by freeing me from a burden I could never have borne by myself, they did me a great kindness. In her final illness, they grieved for her, difficult as she’d been. “Of course we look out for her,” the head nurse told me. “Your mother’s one of us, now.”

Anyway, now I’ve been picked to receive this beautiful bracelet! The sky-blue beads are for Thorin Oakenshield’s sky-blue hood, the purple beads no doubt for his majesty, and the gold spacers represent the shining beauty of gold.
bracelet-2bracelet-1

The bracelet came tucked in a pretty gauze pouch filled with silk rose petals, and decorated with a valentine on the front.

Thank you! I will treasure it!

2 thoughts on “A Gift I Got for Giving!

Leave a Reply

